Recently I came across an article by Subroto Bagchi in a national weekly. I have always found his writing insightful. To learn more about the company he helped found, I browsed through the MindTree Consulting website. I was encouraged to see their focus on integrity. It is the only company that I have come across which has an integrity policy on its website. Reading through the manual it is evident that much thought has gone into it. The policy has examples of what constitutes a breach of integrity. I admire the company for its openness. Making public the ‘dark and difficult moments’ could not have been easy.

It would help though, if to the what, the policy would explain the why. For I have read somewhere that integrity is first an attitude and then an action. Explaining “Why integrity?” would encourage the attitude/belief that becomes the foundation for action.

